New Books for Children

Sort by:

Amazing but true! : fun facts about the LEGO® world--and our own!

Amazing but true! : fun facts about the LEGO® world--and our own!

Dowsett, Elizabeth, author
2022

From unbelievable space and nature facts, to mind-boggling inventions and technology trivia, discover amazing information about the world around us with the help of LEGO minifigures and bricks.

Show More


Bones unearthed!

Bones unearthed!

Hollihan, Kerrie Logan.
2021

Discover all the mysteries, facts, and discoveries about skeletons that are creepy-and true-in the much-anticipated companion to Mummies Exposed! and Ghosts Unveiled! The Creepy and True series explores strange phenomena, fun facts, and out of the ordinary discoveries.

Show More


Boris the school bully.

Boris the school bully.

2022

When Boris and his boring bullies try to ruin recess, Diana and her brother Roma must save their friends from the playground villains.

Show More


Bridges : engineering masterpieces

Bridges : engineering masterpieces

Zettwoch, Dan, author, illustrator
2022

Follow Bea, Archie, Trudy, and Spencer (otherwise known as the BATS!) as they crisscross the globe using every type of bridge: beam, arch, truss, and suspension. From ancient low-slung rope bridges to modern hi-tech towers of steel, they'll traverse 'em all. Their journey will take them through history and connect them with new ideas and different cultures. Along the way they'll identify the dangerous forces trying to bring bridges crashing down, and how to defeat them--through engineering!

Show More


Celia planted a garden : the story of Celia Thaxter and her island garden

Celia planted a garden : the story of Celia Thaxter and her island garden

Root, Phyllis, author.
2022

Presents a lyrical picture-book biography about nineteenth-century writer and master gardener Celia Thaxton, who created beauty in a harsh island habitat that was visited by literary and artistic luminaries of her time.

Show More


Christmas is coming : traditions from around the world

Christmas is coming : traditions from around the world

Utnik-Strugała, Monika, 1981- author
2021

Why do we decorate Christmas trees? Do all children receive gifts on the same day? Come find out as Monika Utnik-Strugala captures the smells, tastes, and unforgettable traditions about the most popular, exciting, contemplative, and unique Christmas customs and legends from around the world.

Show More


Escape from the Nether!

Escape from the Nether!

Eliopulos, Nick, author.
2022

Brett and his friends are running low on ingredients to craft potions and take a trip to the Nether. While gathering Nether Wart and Soul Sand from a fortress, they hear a noise in a room. They enter the room and see a hole in the wall and hear cries coming from the other side. They crawl through the hole to help the unknown person, but wind up in another time period in the Nether. They have to help someone from the future get home.

Show More


Garfield : livin' the sweet life

Garfield : livin' the sweet life

Davis, Jim, 1945 July 28- author
2021

How sweet it is! Garfield really gets into desserts. And why not? The gest things in life are sweet! The confection-loving cat would gladly quarantine in an ice cream parlor for a month of sundaes! For Garfield fans this new collection of comics is sure to be a treat!

Show More


The hair book

The hair book

Yvette, LaTonya, 1989- author
2022

"With bold, colorful graphics and poetic rhyme, this is a stunning tribute to every kind of hair, perfect for fans of Hair Love. Author and lifestyle blogger, LaTonya Yvette makes her children’s book debut with a must-have gift purchase for any occasion alongside art from award-winning illustrator Amanda Jane Jones."-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


How to have friends

How to have friends

Macdonald, Maryann, author
2022

"What do you need to do--or not do--to have friends? Helping them is good. Keeping a secret is, too. Paying attention, sharing, and doing things togther are important. And don't forget to be kind and stick up for them"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Little Bat up all day

Little Bat up all day

Lies, Brian.
2022

"Little Bat always goes to sleep at the end of the night. But what if he stayed up all day? He's excited to see how everything looks in the sun! It turns out the world is a much different place during the day...It's hot, bright, and noisy. Luckily, Rusty the Squirrel is willing to show Little Bat around. But when these new, fast friends separate at the end of the day, how will they stay in touch when one is usually awake while the other is asleep?"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Little monsters

Little monsters

Johnson, Nicole, adapter.
2022

A story based on an episode of the Disney animated show "Monsters at Work" follows Tylor Tuskmon, who hopes to imitate his idols, Mike and Sully, and become a Jokester on the Monsters, Inc. Laugh Floor.

Show More


My life at the bottom : the story of a lonesome axolotl

My life at the bottom : the story of a lonesome axolotl

Bondestam, Linda, author
2022

A new kind of climate change story, narrated by an adorable axolotl [a type of salamander], possibly the last of its kind.

Show More


Never let a unicorn scribble!

Never let a unicorn scribble!

Alber, Diane.
2019

This story is about a little girl who keeps hearing, "Never let a unicorn scribble!" But in her heart believes that people just don't understand how beautiful scribbling can be. She keeps trying to teach her unicorn to scribble but soon realizes this is more difficult then she anticipated. But instead of giving up, she uses her imagination to come up with a creative way to get her unicorn to scribble, at first it looks like it was complete disaster but ends up being truly magical!

Show More


Our skin : a first conversation about race

Our skin : a first conversation about race

Madison, Megan, author.
2021

"Based on the research that race, gender, consent, and body positivity should be discussed with toddlers on up, this read-aloud board book series offers adults the opportunity to begin important conversations with young children in an informed, safe, and supported way. This first book in the series begins the conversation on race, with a supportive approach that considers both the child and the adult. Stunning art accompanies the simple and interactive text, and the backmatter offers additional resources and ideas for extending this discussion."-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


The outdoor scientist : the wonder of observing the natural world

The outdoor scientist : the wonder of observing the natural world

Grandin, Temple, author.
2021

"A guide to exploring the outdoors and asking questions about nature"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Puppy bus

Puppy bus

Brockington, Drew, author, illustrator.
2022

A boy, worried about his first day at a new school, finds himself on the wrong bus, a bus full of puppies bound for Puppy School--and discovers that despite the strange food and even weirder bathroom Puppy School is a lot of fun.

Show More


Remixed : a blended family

Remixed : a blended family

Chung, Arree, author, illustrator.
2022


A seed grows

A seed grows

Portis, Antoinette, author
2022

"An educational picture book about the life cycle of a sunflower"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Smaller sister

Smaller sister

Willis, Maggie Edkins, author, illustrator
2022

Lucy's always looked up to her big sister, Olivia, even though the two are polar opposites. But then, Lucy notices Olivia start to change. She doesn't want to play with Lucy anymore, she's unhappy with the way she looks, and she's refusing to eat her dinner. Finally, Lucy discovers that her sister is not just growing up: Olivia is struggling with an eating disorder. While her family is focused on her sister's recovery, Lucy is left alone to navigate school and friendships. And just like her big sister, she begins to shrink. But with time, work, and a dose of self-love, both sisters begin to heal and let themselves grow. Soon enough, Olivia and Lucy find their way back to each other--because sisters are the one friend you can never ditch."

Show More


The snowy owl scientist

The snowy owl scientist

Wilson, Mark Chester, 1959- author, photographer
2022

"Are the snowy owls in trouble? Venture into the Alaskan arctic and the summer realm of these predator birds to find out. Discover the diverse species necessary to owl survival, how climate change is affecting the landscape of their nesting site of past millennia, and what it takes to do field research in this action-packed addition to the award-winning Scientists in the Field series"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Someone builds the dream

Someone builds the dream

Wheeler, Lisa, 1963-
2021

Celebrates the skilled women and men who work to see the plans of architects, engineers, and designers brought to life.

Show More


Teapot trouble : a Duck and Tiny Horse adventure

Teapot trouble : a Duck and Tiny Horse adventure

Hood, Morag (Illustrator)
2022

Something or someone is living inside Duck's teapot! Who are they? What do they want? How will we get them out? Never fear, for Tiny Horse is here! Tiny Horse has a trampoline. She has a magnificent hat. She has a stick of celery. What more could anyone need to save the day?

Show More


Wheels, no wheels

Wheels, no wheels

McNeill, Shannon, 1970- author
2022

A llama has no wheels. A turtle has no wheels. A cat has no wheels. Not to worry! A skateboard has wheels, a tractor has wheels, and a bike has wheels. Some wily farm animals decide to go for a ride, leaving the farmer without her wheels. After the animals go and go and go and go, chaos ensues . . . but luckily there are some truck driving chicks to save the day.

Show More


The woman who split the atom : Lise Meitner

The woman who split the atom : Lise Meitner

Moss, Marissa, author
2022

"As a female Jewish physicist in Berlin during the early 20th century, Lise Meitner had to fight for an education, a job, and equal treatment in her field, like having her name listed on her own research papers. Meitner made groundbreaking strides in the study of radiation, but when Hitler came to power in Germany, she suddenly had to face not only sexism, but also life-threatening anti-Semitism as well. Nevertheless, she persevered and one day made a discovery that rocked the world: the splitting of the atom. While her male lab partner was awarded a Nobel Prize for the achievement, the committee refused to give her any credit. Suddenly, the race to build the atomic bomb was on-although Meitner was horrified to be associated with such a weapon. "A physicist who never lost her humanity," Meitner wanted only to figure out how the world works, and advocated for pacifism while others called for war. The book includes an afterword, author's note, timeline, select terms of physics, glossary of scientists mentioned, endnotes, select bibliography, index, and Marissa Moss' celebrated drawings throughout. The Woman Who Split the Atom is a fascinating look at Meitner's fierce passion, integrity, and her life-long struggle to have her contributions to physics recognized"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More